Possibilities

Slow down…

Take a deep breath…

I hadn’t been able to do that in quite awhile. Breathe.  The decade leading up to this moment found me in constant knots, unable to think, move forward, or breathe. A single mom with a tenacious work ethic but constantly immersed in the cobwebs of toxic, stagnant relationships in the various corners of her life, devoting all remaining energies to the nurturing and future success of her only child.  Watching her daughter blossoming into a young woman was the sole, albeit incredibly fulfilling, reward of the years of immobilizing stress and singular, misplaced vision.  The elephant remained sitting on my chest, leading to excruciating mental and physical exhaustion.  Lost in overthinking and fear, I was Atlas feeling the weight of the world and unaware how long ago it was when I truly lost the plot.

But hell, even Atlas needs a coffee break.

In a rare moment, the fog lifted enough to see opportunities knocking, nay, beating down my door. I had to pull myself from the rubble of the humdrum and reach for the extraordinary.  And reach I did…

What we put out into the Universe, the Universe shall provide.

From that moment a year ago that I reached out into the unknown, my life has been forever changed.  The Universe did indeed provide – a new career with limitless opportunities, a new set of deep, positive friendships, the will to radically change the education of my child, and the ability to see and recognize the influx of possibilities as they rushed into my life.  Possibilities.  The theme of the year, and this blog.  My mission is to remember – remember where I was and how I need only believe in myself enough to make a change.  I cracked open the monotony and will never settle for anything less than “awe”some.

For so long, I sought inspiration, something to move me, to shake me to my core. I needed others to  encourage me, to motivate and stimulate my mind. I stayed distracted behind screens in the hope something would astound my soul.  No more…

I will be my own story of inspiration.

confused-love-quotes-tumblr-7618-copy1

And I will send out these stories of love and light into the world like the waves of the ocean, crashing onto the shore and cracking the status quo.  Normal is no longer for me.  I will live the extraordinary life.

Possibilities abound.

One thought on “Possibilities

  1. Thank you, your feelings of carrying the world and made unable by pressure mirror my own experience of the last decade or so. I was forced to change my career in a sudden and distressing way when I lost my lucrative post almost exactly a year ago. In the past year I have gradually incrementally re-built my career and re-discover my life’s direction. A life more extraordinary, I aim to.
    I will follow your blog with immense interest.
    Catherine

    Like

Leave a comment